Gyms are scary!

Today, I went to the gym for the first time since I was 17.

And it was intimidating as hell!

Walking through the door, the first thing I realised was that there was absolutely NO ONE in there that was over-weight or even vaguely unfit.

The second thing I realised is that, apart from me, there were only about 5 other girls in what was a pretty busy room.

The third realisation dawned as I looked at all the equipment in the room. It had all been replaced and upgraded since the last time I was a member here.

Now, everything was shades of matt grey, with the words ‘Techno Gym’ emblazoned on the side. Of everything in the room, I knew how to use approximately 1/3 of the weights machines, and I had very little interest in the cardio or free weights.

Nevertheless, with one or two embarrassing moments, I stayed and worked out for an hour!

It didn’t take me long to realise that everyone else in the gym was too busy getting on with their own thing to bother taking any notice of me.

 I also quickly realised that everyone starts somewhere, and for me, that meant around two sets of 25 reps on the machines I could work out, with the weight ranging between 5 and 25 kg depending on the muscles I was using. (It turns out I have absolutely no muscles in my upper back….)

I hope that next time I visit, I will be less intimidated, and better equipped to make good use of the equipment available. To that end, I have booked an induction on Tuesday, after my ‘dance aerobics’ class. (It was highly evident today that if I’m going to incorporate any cardio in to my routine, then I needed it in the form of encouraging instructors shouting at me enthusiasticly.)

All in all, I feel like I did good work today, and now I’m feeling achy but pleased that I was able to overcome my initial trepidation about the whole thing.
Until next time!

Dani 

Leave a Reply

